please help me

If you want to say something that doesent fit anywhere else!
MAIN WEBSITE: http://www.wheelchairdriver.com

please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 12 Aug 2018, 17:23

I do not understand English and I use google translator
I use the jazzy 1120 wheelchair
the wheelchair does not go back and forth...no clutch click is heard

everything else works. Rear, seat, headlamps, turn signals all work
Attachments
Wheelchair -  jazzy.jpg
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 12 Aug 2018, 20:39

Any error lights?
Freewheel lever in correct position?
Battery charged or on charge?
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 13 Aug 2018, 03:32

A - seat. works
B - backrest. works
E - lifting. works
L - headlamps. works
  -----------
speeds
1,2,3,4,5 - counts them but does not go at any speed.

the batteries are 6 years old and load them every night
and charged and not charged equally
the free wheel button in the correct position
Attachments
jazzy1120evropa_1024x1024.jpg
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 13 Aug 2018, 09:33

6 years old?

Measure battery voltage as you try to drive. Does it drop to about 18V? New battery.

Are there any error lights?
Do the joystick lights dim?

Is it LOCKED?

Try disconnecting the power fro the battery for 10 mins.

If non of this works then you have likely got a seating inhibit error or problem. Which will need someone that understands what they are looking for to fix it.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 13 Aug 2018, 10:30

Thanks.
Last question.
Maybe I've burned something because I used to charge it every night
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 13 Aug 2018, 11:04

You should charge it weekly or bi weekly if unused.
It its used at all, even just 30 feet, charge overnight.

Provided you have a decent charger it wont hurt anything, only help.

Charging every night is why your batteries lasted 6 years. Batteries last most heavy users less than a year, and 2 years at best for average users.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby rover220 » 13 Aug 2018, 19:16

that flashing light is telling you a fault code. how many times is it flashing?
rover220
 
Posts: 808
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 19:34
Location: West Mids, UK

Re: please help me

Postby martin007 » 13 Aug 2018, 21:12

Where are you from bumbaloto?
User avatar
martin007
 
Posts: 605
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 23:55

Re: please help me

Postby Lord Chatterley » 13 Aug 2018, 23:23

Has anyone brushed the hand control with a magnet on a mobile phone or wallet recently?

LC
Lord Chatterley
 
Posts: 2205
Joined: 06 Jan 2010, 13:12

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 14 Aug 2018, 11:44

rover220 wrote:that flashing light is telling you a fault code. how many times is it flashing?


It flashes slowly continuously within 1.2 seconds
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 14 Aug 2018, 11:47

martin007 wrote:Where are you from bumbaloto?

Bulgaria
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 14 Aug 2018, 16:57

Then its asleep or locked.

LOCK MODE
The Dynamic controller is equipped with a feature that enables you to “lockout” unauthorized users.
To lock the Dynamic controller:

1. While the power is on, press and hold the on/off key for 4 seconds. The
display will turn off immediately. After 4 seconds, all LEDs will flash
briefly and the horn will sound a short beep.
2. The Dynamic controller is now locked.


To unlock the Dynamic controller:
1. While the Dynamic controller is locked, press the on/off key to turn on
the controller. All LEDs will flash briefly. The LEDs will then slowly
ripple from right to left.
2. Press the horn key twice before the LED ripple has completed,
approximately 10 seconds. The controller is now unlocked.
NOTE: If you do not press the horn key twice before the countdown is
complete, the system will beep and the Dynamic controller will turn itself
off. The unlock sequence must be completed before the controller will be active.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby rover220 » 14 Aug 2018, 17:06

Burgerman wrote:Then its asleep or locked.

LOCK MODE
The Dynamic controller is equipped with a feature that enables you to “lockout” unauthorized users.
To lock the Dynamic controller:

1. While the power is on, press and hold the on/off key for 4 seconds. The
display will turn off immediately. After 4 seconds, all LEDs will flash
briefly and the horn will sound a short beep.
2. The Dynamic controller is now locked.


To unlock the Dynamic controller:
1. While the Dynamic controller is locked, press the on/off key to turn on
the controller. All LEDs will flash briefly. The LEDs will then slowly
ripple from right to left.
2. Press the horn key twice before the LED ripple has completed,
approximately 10 seconds. The controller is now unlocked.
NOTE: If you do not press the horn key twice before the countdown is
complete, the system will beep and the Dynamic controller will turn itself
off. The unlock sequence must be completed before the controller will be active.


its not locked, itll be a 1 flash which is a power module fault

if its locked the light will flash red not green
rover220
 
Posts: 808
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 19:34
Location: West Mids, UK

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 14 Aug 2018, 17:14

If thats correct then not all is lost. Theres dozens of those power modules on eBay very cheap.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Dynamic-Powe ... SwuAVW00ZH
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby rover220 » 14 Aug 2018, 17:17

just make you sure you get the same part number, pmb,pmb1 or pmb2 all have different power outputs
rover220
 
Posts: 808
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 19:34
Location: West Mids, UK

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 14 Aug 2018, 18:34

Thank you all, you are cool.
I will comply with all the tips step by step.
Still, I think something in the joystick was burned because the night before at the top right was burning.

In about a week I will write to tell you what the problem was.
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby rover220 » 14 Aug 2018, 19:19

bumbaloto wrote:Thank you all, you are cool.
I will comply with all the tips step by step.
Still, I think something in the joystick was burned because the night before at the top right was burning.

In about a week I will write to tell you what the problem was.


the g80 joysticks do seem to get warm
rover220
 
Posts: 808
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 19:34
Location: West Mids, UK

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 25 Aug 2018, 09:54

rover220 wrote:that flashing light is telling you a fault code. how many times is it flashing?



Every second second, it lights up for a very short time. So permanent. The light is green.
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 25 Aug 2018, 09:59

I put new batteries. I followed the step you wrote about locking. Not locked. The problem remains.
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 25 Aug 2018, 10:14

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q ... Gi55Dwcjor
For 1 green light flash the DX manual says:

An Auto Download (see 7.3) has occurred.
• Turn off the DX System, then turn it on again.

The DX System is not programmed correctly.
• Reprogram the DX System.

The DX BUS connection of a DX Module is faulty
• Check the DX BUS cables and the DX BUS connections.
• Replace the cables when necessary.

If the Status LED on another Module is flashing too, there may be an internal fault in that Module.
• Reprogram the faulty Module.
• If reprogramming does not help, replace the faulty Module.

An expected critical module is not detected (for example the DX Lighting Module, see also 6.6.1.2 or 6.6.2.3).
• Check that the 'is critical'-parameters have the correct value
• Check the DX BUS connections and (if applicable) the power connections of the critical module
• Replace the critical module

So before replacing the power module you would do well to check the above. Esp resending the programming.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 25 Aug 2018, 14:56

Hello. Can I diagnose a cart with a laptop? If so, what kind of cable do I need and what software? Or is there a special device for the diagnosis and the mission to do it alone is impossible?
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 25 Aug 2018, 21:12

You need to make a cable. Or ask woodygb to make one for you. We have the software already, to run on your laptop.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby rover220 » 26 Aug 2018, 07:33

bumbaloto wrote:I put new batteries. I followed the step you wrote about locking. Not locked. The problem remains.


ive told you what the problem is already.......
rover220
 
Posts: 808
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 19:34
Location: West Mids, UK

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 26 Aug 2018, 10:09

rover220 wrote:
bumbaloto wrote:I put new batteries. I followed the step you wrote about locking. Not locked. The problem remains.


ive told you what the problem is already.......


Is this the problem? --------->
Attachments
IMG201801121uu35151_clean_1024x1024.jpg
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 26 Aug 2018, 10:12

No. The power module is 95% certain to be the problem. Its under the seat or somewhere out of sight.

But check all modules and cables first.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=2ahUKEwj-1-PT64fdAhVDeMAKHZv7B0cQFjAAegQIARAC&url=https%3A%2F%2Fdynamiccontrols.com%2Fsites%2Fdefault%2Ffiles%2F2018-05%2Fdx-system-manual-issue1.pdf&usg=AOvVaw1T26t1_q5i34Gi55Dwcjor
For 1 green light flash the DX manual says:

An Auto Download (see 7.3) has occurred.
• Turn off the DX System, then turn it on again.

The DX System is not programmed correctly.
• Reprogram the DX System.

The DX BUS connection of a DX Module is faulty
• Check the DX BUS cables and the DX BUS connections.
• Replace the cables when necessary.

If the Status LED on another Module is flashing too, there may be an internal fault in that Module.
• Reprogram the faulty Module.
• If reprogramming does not help, replace the faulty Module.

An expected critical module is not detected (for example the DX Lighting Module, see also 6.6.1.2 or 6.6.2.3).
• Check that the 'is critical'-parameters have the correct value
• Check the DX BUS connections and (if applicable) the power connections of the critical module
• Replace the critical module

So before replacing the power module you would do well to check the above. Esp resending the programming.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 30 Aug 2018, 19:22

Burgerman wrote:No. The power module is 95% certain to be the problem. Its under the seat or somewhere out of sight.

But check all modules and cables first.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=2ahUKEwj-1-PT64fdAhVDeMAKHZv7B0cQFjAAegQIARAC&url=https%3A%2F%2Fdynamiccontrols.com%2Fsites%2Fdefault%2Ffiles%2F2018-05%2Fdx-system-manual-issue1.pdf&usg=AOvVaw1T26t1_q5i34Gi55Dwcjor
For 1 green light flash the DX manual says:

An Auto Download (see 7.3) has occurred.
• Turn off the DX System, then turn it on again.

The DX System is not programmed correctly.
• Reprogram the DX System.

The DX BUS connection of a DX Module is faulty
• Check the DX BUS cables and the DX BUS connections.
• Replace the cables when necessary.

If the Status LED on another Module is flashing too, there may be an internal fault in that Module.
• Reprogram the faulty Module.
• If reprogramming does not help, replace the faulty Module.

An expected critical module is not detected (for example the DX Lighting Module, see also 6.6.1.2 or 6.6.2.3).
• Check that the 'is critical'-parameters have the correct value
• Check the DX BUS connections and (if applicable) the power connections of the critical module
• Replace the critical module

So before replacing the power module you would do well to check the above. Esp resending the programming.


I apologize for writing again
It turns out that finding a specialist in Bulgaria is quite difficult.

I will solve my problem if I buy my joystick and power module?

This is a link to video, joystick, and error indication.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q96j5Mtfx6U
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 30 Aug 2018, 19:39

Did you check out that list?

If not then you MAY fix the problem, by swapping the POWER MODULE. But no garantees.

And at least try this:

The DX System is not programmed correctly.
• Reprogram the DX System.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby bumbaloto » 31 Aug 2018, 12:11

Burgerman wrote:Did you check out that list?

If not then you MAY fix the problem, by swapping the POWER MODULE. But no garantees.

And at least try this:

The DX System is not programmed correctly.
• Reprogram the DX System.


The cables and electric motors have been checked and everything is OK

Nothing related to programming can be done.
There are no such specialists and apparatus.
I can only replace parts.
The only option is to buy all the parts that are in doubt,
that they may be damaged.
So far I've understood you about the joystick and power module.
bumbaloto
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Aug 2018, 17:02

Re: please help me

Postby Burgerman » 31 Aug 2018, 13:03

Well you will need to program even a new power module.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41612
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: please help me

Postby LROBBINS » 31 Aug 2018, 16:06

If you are willing to read the Dynamic manuals (available from the Dynamic web site) and learn how to do the programming, and if you have a Windows PC, people here can help you with cables and the software.
LROBBINS
 
Posts: 4182
Joined: 27 Aug 2010, 09:36
Location: Siena, Italy

Next

Return to Anything

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

 

  eXTReMe Tracker